Battlefield V

  • Guest, I'm signing an executive order to make Courier the official sarcasm font on UnionVGF.

menace-uk-

Division Agent
Sep 11, 2013
20,985
3,267
3,930
Yep, Dice seems to be doing a really good job with post launch support. They've typically been notoriously slow on balance issues especially, but seem quick to jump on the big ones. Some of the stuff is annoying, but this game is still pretty stable, all things considered.

You have to think that the fact that they aren't striving towards any paid DLC at all helps a ton. I really hope the EA haters lay off a bit, as they did this one nearly perfect.
Actually,, no they aren't. Sure they are doing better inregards to acting on community feedback. But, if we look at what EA have detailed for thye first 3 months of Tides of War then it is pretty underwhelming. Also, don't be fooled by the first part, EA have to do this now because their profits are directly linked to the live service and need to keep the player base as happy as possible. EA are still the same old in all their other games.

Also, EA create their hate and therefor deserve it.

I do love BF5, though.
 

Kerosene31

What happened to the American Dream? It came true.
Supporting Member
Sep 12, 2013
6,970
1,441
3,620
But, if we look at what EA have detailed for thye first 3 months of Tides of War then it is pretty underwhelming.
It is less than other games, but it is free as opposed to paid DLC that half the community buys and half doesn't, which is just a colossal mess. I'd prefer to just pay and get more content personally, but that model simply doesn't work. In BF1, and SWBF1 nobody played the DLC maps until they came out for free.

Also, don't be fooled by the first part, EA have to do this now because their profits are directly linked to the live service and need to keep the player base as happy as possible. EA are still the same old in all their other games.
So, their profits are linked to making a good game and keeping players happy. This is bad how? :)

Their profits will be linked to paid cosmetics, which is the best thing for all involved. People who like that kind of stuff can fund further development of the game, while the rest of us who don't care what color our pants are in a first person shooter can get free DLC!

The way they sell cosmetics is to keep people coming back to the game, which is a win for everyone.
 

Kerosene31

What happened to the American Dream? It came true.
Supporting Member
Sep 12, 2013
6,970
1,441
3,620
More details on the patch. No TTK changes so far. Seems like the issues are more netcode related (which make sense as sometimes it feels fine and other times not)

 

menace-uk-

Division Agent
Sep 11, 2013
20,985
3,267
3,930
TTK changes not coming Dec 4. Instead, Dice has decided to not do blanket TTK changes and is going to include the community via some type of experimental server set up. So, good news.

KE7 is getting nerfed with increased horizontal recoil and vertical recoil reduction via specializtions is being removed and replaced with quick aim.

SMGs across the board will see increased muzzle velocity & reduced bullet drag to help with longer range combat. The 5 bullet kill range is being extended by 5M to help CQB consistency. And will get increased stationary ADS accuracy.

Dragging bodies: The latest comment on this doesn't fill me with hope.

Full patch notes coming Monday
 

JinCA

Well-Known Member
Sep 11, 2013
10,888
4,428
3,830
Kind of bummed about what they've done with the single player stories, they were so good in BF1 but these sound like a bunch of wannabe stealth garbage.
 

JinCA

Well-Known Member
Sep 11, 2013
10,888
4,428
3,830
Type of Battlefield? You mean a poor mans Battlefield. You do know that there really isn't any difference between BF and BC right? People only have that perception because it was the only BF consoles could do.
Not true at all, it had destruction and vehicles, something COD never has in MP, it was just fun. Not only did it have destruction but in many cases more of the environment was able to be destroyed than newer entries in the series. Just because the player count was smaller doesn't mean it was a poor mans version of the BF, several of those maps could easily be populated with two to three times as many players and still be fine.
 
Last edited:

menace-uk-

Division Agent
Sep 11, 2013
20,985
3,267
3,930
BC was a poor mans BF. There are no real differences other than scale. It isn't even refutable.
 

Kerosene31

What happened to the American Dream? It came true.
Supporting Member
Sep 12, 2013
6,970
1,441
3,620
I am confused why people hold BC in such high regard. BC2 was a ton of fun for sure at the time, but it got surpassed by the real BF games down the line. I don't get exactly what people want from those games that is different outside of SP? BF now is everything BC was plus a lot more. Again... great fun at the time, but now? Why would they make anything that is not BF?

I'm really disappointed about the patch. I am really hoping they can push it out later this week and not get stuck waiting until next week. I basically took last weekend off from the game waiting for this update.
 
Last edited:

VaLLiancE

X Enhanced 4 2018
Sep 11, 2013
22,346
2,225
4,031
1st part of my prediction is the wide spread excitement....
Waaaay better than any since Bf3 in fact.
 

menace-uk-

Division Agent
Sep 11, 2013
20,985
3,267
3,930
I am confused why people hold BC in such high regard. BC2 was a ton of fun for sure at the time, but it got surpassed by the real BF games down the line. I don't get exactly what people want from those games that is different outside of SP? BF now is everything BC was plus a lot more. Again... great fun at the time, but now? Why would they make anything that is not BF?

I'm really disappointed about the patch. I am really hoping they can push it out later this week and not get stuck waiting until next week. I basically took last weekend off from the game waiting for this update.
The irony is they don't want anything different because there was nothing different. Even when people mention destruction differences they fail to realize that the changes post BC 2 were intentional, and to quote Dice, "The Level of destruction(in BC2)unbalanced the game." Hence the changes. IMO this is why they are trying fortifications.

Funnier still is even Dice called BC 'An authetic BF experience for consoles.'
 

dbled34

Well-Known Member
Sep 11, 2013
1,834
471
1,050
It now says tides of war will be on December 6th.
 

Digital Joker

Do I look like I'm joking?
Sep 22, 2013
1,524
486
1,580
I'm afraid that with no incentive for expansion sales we'll end up getting significantly less maps over the course of BFV. Previous games were at 30 maps after the last expansion. I can't see BFV getting over 20 maps and it wouldn't surprise me one bit if the current rate of 1 map updates continues and we end up with only 15 or 16 maps by the time it's all said and done.
 

menace-uk-

Division Agent
Sep 11, 2013
20,985
3,267
3,930
I'm afraid that with no incentive for expansion sales we'll end up getting significantly less maps over the course of BFV. Previous games were at 30 maps after the last expansion. I can't see BFV getting over 20 maps and it wouldn't surprise me one bit if the current rate of 1 map updates continues and we end up with only 15 or 16 maps by the time it's all said and done.
etween now and end of March there are only 2 new maps coming. So, if that holds...yeah! Only 8 maps coming in 1 year.
 

Kerosene31

What happened to the American Dream? It came true.
Supporting Member
Sep 12, 2013
6,970
1,441
3,620
Update is coming tomorrow! Dec 5th!

Update Accessibility:

  • PC - Wednesday, Dec 5th at 1am PT / 4am ET / 9am UTC / 10am CET
  • PlayStation 4 - Wednesday, Dec 5th at 2am PT / 5am ET / 10am UTC / 11am CET
  • Xbox One - Wednesday, Dec 5th at 3am PT / 6am ET / 11am UTC / 12pm CET


 
Last edited:

Frozpot

Well-Known Member
Sep 13, 2013
10,211
2,358
3,629
I am confused why people hold BC in such high regard. BC2 was a ton of fun for sure at the time, but it got surpassed by the real BF games down the line. I don't get exactly what people want from those games that is different outside of SP? BF now is everything BC was plus a lot more. Again... great fun at the time, but now? Why would they make anything that is not BF?

I'm really disappointed about the patch. I am really hoping they can push it out later this week and not get stuck waiting until next week. I basically took last weekend off from the game waiting for this update.
Is the SP and style not good enough a reason? It definitely felt different than a mainline BF. Newer iterations of BF adopted many of BCs DNA.

The newer games are more like BC than 1942, really, but I wish they'd bring back the more extensive destruction and more gritty fun atmosphere from BC.

Recent BFs feel pretentious while still messing with history.