Battlefield V

  • Guest, I'm signing an executive order to make Courier the official sarcasm font on UnionVGF.

Kerosene31

What happened to the American Dream? It came true.
Supporting Member
Sep 12, 2013
6,971
1,441
3,620
Is the SP and style not good enough a reason? It definitely felt different than a mainline BF. Newer iterations of BF adopted many of BCs DNA.

The newer games are more like BC than 1942, really, but I wish they'd bring back the more extensive destruction and more gritty fun atmosphere from BC.

Recent BFs feel pretentious while still messing with history.
What about BF3 and 4? What would BC3 do that say a modern BF 6 type game do other than SP? I guess I didn't play BC games much honestly because I don't remember anything special about them.

I don't mean to argue with you, I really just don't remember it. BF1 was just a bad game that should be forgotten and never mentioned again. Only thing that game did well was sounds.

BF V is certainly wacky with the history, but the gameplay is spot on. I can't wait for the tank map.
 

JinCA

Well-Known Member
Sep 11, 2013
10,888
4,428
3,830
The irony is they don't want anything different because there was nothing different. Even when people mention destruction differences they fail to realize that the changes post BC 2 were intentional, and to quote Dice, "The Level of destruction(in BC2)unbalanced the game." Hence the changes. IMO this is why they are trying fortifications.

Funnier still is even Dice called BC 'An authetic BF experience for consoles.'
DICE also says they don't know why BC was so fun, they say a lot of things. The game wasn't that unbalanced, yeah they had an issue at first with being able to take down targets in rush by destroying the building but they fixed that. My only complaint about it was shotguns being able to single shot kill so far away, other than that the game was a ton of fun regardless of what some who would compare it to a PC game think.
 
Last edited:

menace-uk-

Division Agent
Sep 11, 2013
20,985
3,267
3,930
DICE also says they don't know why BC was so fun, they say a lot of things. The game wasn't that unbalanced, yeah they had an issue at first with being able to take down targets in rush by destroying the building but they fixed that. My only complaint about it was shotguns being able to single shot kill so far away, other than that the game was a ton of fun regardless of what some who would compare it to a PC game think.
Because it was finally an authentic BF experience on console.

The destruction was that unbalanced. They didn't scale it back just for the sake of it.

The games were fun, i loved them...but they simply weren't this massively different game that if made today would be totally different to BF.
 

menace-uk-

Division Agent
Sep 11, 2013
20,985
3,267
3,930
Update is coming tomorrow! Dec 5th!

Update Accessibility:

  • PC - Wednesday, Dec 5th at 1am PT / 4am ET / 9am UTC / 10am CET
  • PlayStation 4 - Wednesday, Dec 5th at 2am PT / 5am ET / 10am UTC / 11am CET
  • Xbox One - Wednesday, Dec 5th at 3am PT / 6am ET / 11am UTC / 12pm CET


Awesome!.
 

dbled34

Well-Known Member
Sep 11, 2013
1,834
471
1,050
So this is what we've got to look forward to with battlefield v? So far this just feels uninspiring to me. The Last Tiger was ok. It's better than the other single player stories but that's not saying much.
 

VaLLiancE

X Enhanced 4 2018
Sep 11, 2013
22,346
2,225
4,031
Do we get new guns from playing single player?
 

BDaddyK

Generation Crybaby
Supporting Member
Sep 11, 2013
8,097
1,154
3,930
Get 50% off of BFV if you buy it through BF1 on the XB1

IMG_0581.JPG
 

menace-uk-

Division Agent
Sep 11, 2013
20,985
3,267
3,930
So this is what we've got to look forward to with battlefield v? So far this just feels uninspiring to me. The Last Tiger was ok. It's better than the other single player stories but that's not saying much.
How so?

Remember Tides of War hasn't actually started yet. Not entirely sure what it will actually bring, but it seems the new weapons are attached to it. I imagine it will have unique assignments to compoete and exclusive cosmetics to earn.

The next chapter should be bringing a COOP mode and limited time Rush event. In March we get Battle Royale.

Honestly...I don't think there are too far off. We just need more maps with each update..like 2 maps each time. A new gadget for each class each time. Put that on top of what we know and I think it is good.
 

menace-uk-

Division Agent
Sep 11, 2013
20,985
3,267
3,930
I am pleased to report medic guns are better. Far more consistent and viable at medium ranges.
 

Kerosene31

What happened to the American Dream? It came true.
Supporting Member
Sep 12, 2013
6,971
1,441
3,620
Get 50% off of BFV if you buy it through BF1 on the XB1
BF1 is free if you have EA Access too so you can just download the game and get the deal on Xbox.
 

Kerosene31

What happened to the American Dream? It came true.
Supporting Member
Sep 12, 2013
6,971
1,441
3,620
So this is what we've got to look forward to with battlefield v? So far this just feels uninspiring to me. The Last Tiger was ok. It's better than the other single player stories but that's not saying much.
Basically hours and hours of fun multiplayer. The class balance gets better in every version and assuming the medic balancing helped (sounds like it did), the game should just get better and better. Hopefully they add some guns. The maps will be few unfortunately. Of course I'm a shameless BF fanboy. I barely play MP shooters anymore except for BF. My wife told me she's going to be out of the house babysitting most of the weekend and I literally have the BF theme blasting in my head. :)

The real issue is that many of us would probably pay extra for a ton more maps, but that model doesn't seem to work anymore. Too many people end up not buying them, so it just makes a bigger mess (plus we end up paying for maps we don't get to play often). The problem has gone back many games now unfortunately. SW BF was a mess with it and BF1 was pretty bad until they just gave most maps away for free. I can't really fault EA for dumping it.
 

menace-uk-

Division Agent
Sep 11, 2013
20,985
3,267
3,930
So Tides Of War is live and we have details.

Tides of War rank max is 20. Every rank unlocks a reward. All rewards are cosmetic, dog tags(not many), assignments, vehicle skins, full weapon skins(seems like there is 5or 6),and rank 20 gives a full soldier skin.

A weekly objective that unlocks a new weapon. This weeks is a Vickers MMG.

Westie on youtube has a good vid detailing TOW if you wanna check it out. Sorry, I can't link it right now
 

dbled34

Well-Known Member
Sep 11, 2013
1,834
471
1,050
I just unlocked the mmg. Real good gun. I take back what I said about tides of war. It's actually a good gig and the potential is massive.
 

menace-uk-

Division Agent
Sep 11, 2013
20,985
3,267
3,930
I just unlocked the mmg. Real good gun. I take back what I said about tides of war. It's actually a good gig and the potential is massive.
The good thing about it is it is a weekly thing with new stuff every week. If this monthly it would have been oh so bad.

It is also good they didn't hide the most meaningful thing(weapon)behind rank 20.

The only issue for me is that it seems one class is getting screwed every month because it doesn't get a new weapon. This month that class is the Medic...I think.
 
Sep 11, 2013
3,277
608
2,030
where have the Conquest servers gone!!! cant find single one no matter what filter i use!
 
Sep 11, 2013
3,277
608
2,030
weird, happened to me 2 nights in a row, had to play that breakthrough gamemode which can last f***ing hours lol

might try hard reboot of xbox i guess
 

dii

Well-Known Member
Apr 7, 2018
104
45
57
BC hit the sweet spot in scale.

These newer games make you feel insignificant. Winning and losing doesn't mean anything... so less team play because of it.

Bigger isn't better, imo.
 

Kerosene31

What happened to the American Dream? It came true.
Supporting Member
Sep 12, 2013
6,971
1,441
3,620
BC hit the sweet spot in scale.

These newer games make you feel insignificant. Winning and losing doesn't mean anything... so less team play because of it.

Bigger isn't better, imo.
That's just the point though. BF was always about going bigger. There's tons of games that do smaller and mid sized battles.

You do feel less significant, but that's exactly the point.

Squad teamwork is vital. A squad of 4 that works together can wreck in this game. People that run off and try to dominate end up getting destroyed.
 

Kerosene31

What happened to the American Dream? It came true.
Supporting Member
Sep 12, 2013
6,971
1,441
3,620
MP40 sucks the least.
Thanks, that's what I've been using. Just happens to be as far as I unlocked.

Even with the buff, the medic guns aren't great. I am constantly dying while the guy who kills me has < 10% health.
 

eVo7

Well-Known Member
Sep 13, 2013
3,262
492
2,230
BC hit the sweet spot in scale.

These newer games make you feel insignificant. Winning and losing doesn't mean anything... so less team play because of it.

Bigger isn't better, imo.
Maybe on consoles. Not on PC however.
 

dbled34

Well-Known Member
Sep 11, 2013
1,834
471
1,050
Thanks, that's what I've been using. Just happens to be as far as I unlocked.

Even with the buff, the medic guns aren't great. I am constantly dying while the guy who kills me has < 10% health.
Agreed. Medic is the one class I get the least kills in and that includes sniper. The last gun to open seems decent though. At least it has a higher rate of fire than the others in the medic class.
 

Kerosene31

What happened to the American Dream? It came true.
Supporting Member
Sep 12, 2013
6,971
1,441
3,620
Agreed. Medic is the one class I get the least kills in and that includes sniper. The last gun to open seems decent though. At least it has a higher rate of fire than the others in the medic class.
The problem is the medic has the wrong gun. The medic should be at the back of the squad, and having little SMGs is fairly useless.

Although I am glad they finally put rifles back in the hands of the assault class.